Left Lanes Now for Passing Only on Colorado Highways
As of January 1, Colorado drivers can now be fined for using the left lane of highways for anything but passing, according to news reports. State troopers can issue $35 tickets, plus a $6.20 surcharge and three points on drivers' licenses. A six-month-old law says the left lane is to be used only for passing on any of Colorado's multilane highways where the speed limit is 65 mph or faster, according to an Associated Press report. If a highway has three or more lanes, motorists are expected to stay out of the far left lane. The exception is rush hour, when motorists are not able to move over.Troopers say some drivers deliberately drive under the speed limit in the left lane in an effort to prevent others from speeding. Lawmakers passed the bill hoping to prevent traffic congestion and cut down on road rage, according to the AP report.