The Automotive Hall of Fame has released the names of its 2003 class of inductees. They are: Andy Granatelli, Max Hoffman, Sir Alec Issigonis, Henry B. Joy, J. Edward Lundy, Harry A. Miller and Louis Renault. Formal induction ceremonies will take place in October in Dearborn, Michigan. Bringing the total number of inductees to 200, this new class represents nearly 100 years of automotive achievement. "These seven individuals have irrefutable credentials and have all played significant roles in the development of the automobile or the automobile business," said Automotive Hall of Fame president Jeffrey K. Leestma, "and certainly worthy of inclusion in the international motor vehicle industry's highest place of honor." The announcement was made at the annual International Motor Press Association (IMPA) breakfast at the New York International Auto Show. Andy Granatelli (1923 - )
Through the '60s and early '70s, the name Andy Granatelli was synonymous with the Indy 500 and STP Corporation. Race promoter, owner, designer, engineer and marketer of aftermarket products, Granatelli brought racing to the living rooms of America through groundbreaking corporate sponsorships and innovative marketing. Max Hoffman (1904-1981)
Max Hoffman was the first major distributor of imported automobiles in the United States, marketing such brands as Volkswagen, Mercedes-Benz, Porsche, BMW, Alfa Romeo, Fiat, Jaguar and others. Hoffman is generally credited with creating the import car business in America. Sir Alec Issigonis (1896-1988)
One of the most ingenious automotive engineers of all time, Alec Issigonis is best known for creating the Austin and Morris Mini, which represented the first use of a transverse mounted engine/front wheel drive configuration in a production car. Built between 1959 and 2000, over 5.3 million Minis have been sold worldwide. Henry B. Joy (1864-1936)
Succeeding Packard founder James Ward Packard as president from 1909-1916, Henry B. Joy was responsible for one of the company's most rapid eras of growth and for establishing Packard as one of America's first luxury brands. Following Packard, Joy became one of America's primary promoters of a transcontinental interstate road network. J. Edward Lundy (1915 - )
One of the original post-war Ford "Whiz Kids," J. Edward Lundy is credited with assisting Henry Ford II with saving and growing the company after the death of founder Henry Ford. Lundy became Ford Motor Company's chief financial officer and a mentor to a generation of industry finance executives. Harry A. Miller (1875-1943)
Harry Miller's cars and engines dominated American racing for more than 40 years. A constant innovator, he pioneered light alloy metals, aerodynamics, supercharging and both front-wheel and four- wheel drive. Miller cars won the Indianapolis 500 ten times and Miller or Miller-based Offenhauser engines won at Indy another 29 times. Louis Renault (1877-1944)
With his two older brothers, Louis Renault founded Societe des Automobiles Renault in 1899. Following the premature deaths of his brothers, Louis was left to carry on alone, and went on to build France's largest automaker. About the Automotive Hall of Fame Founded in 1939, the Automotive Hall of Fame, located in Dearborn, Michigan, is the only industry-wide means to honor the men and women of the global motor vehicle and related industries. The mission of the Automotive Hall of Fame is to recognize outstanding achievement in the international automotive industry, to preserve automotive heritage and to educate the next generation of industry participants.