A proposal in the Mississippi House of Representatives would permit police to pull over drivers who are not buckled up. The bill would create a primary law for seat-belt enforcement. Currently, police can ticket drivers and passengers for seat-belt violations only after stopping a vehicle for another traffic violation. Under HB151, an unbelted driver could be fined $25 and a front-seat passenger or child would cost the driver another $50. No points would be assessed on the driver’s license. Mississippi is one of about 30 states without a primary seat-belt law.
See all comments