Three separate bills that call for a statewide vote to increase gasoline and diesel taxes are heading to the state House for a vote, according to the Associated Press. The House Revenue and Tax Committee approved the bills offered by Representatives Randall Ervin, Bill Nations and Wayne Pettigrew. Ervin's bill calls for a 5 cent per gallon increase in the gas tax and an 8-cent increase in the tax on diesel. Nations' plan would raise the gas tax by 7 cents per gallon and the diesel tax by 9 cents, and Pettigrew's proposal calls for a 3-cent increase on both gas and diesel. Each bill would put the proposed tax increase on the ballot for state voters to decide.