The sixth annual World Car awards winners' press conference at the New York International Auto Show will take place on April 9.

A jury of 59 distinguished international automotive journalists selected the finalists by secret ballot, based on their experience with each candidate as part of their professional work. The jury members constitute a balance of representation from Asia, Europe, North America, South America, as well as other parts of the world.

The international accounting firm KPMG tabulated the jurors' ballots and announced the top ten finalists in both categories on Jan. 23.

The 2009 World Car of the Year will be selected from the following cars listed in alphabetical order. Eleven cars are listed as there is a tie: 

  • Audi A4 / Avant
  • BMW 7 Series
  • Citroen C5 Sedan / C5 Tourer
  • Fiat 500
  • Ford Fiesta
  • Honda Fit / Jazz
  • Jaguar XF
  • Mazda Atenza / Mazda6
  • Nissan GT-R
  • Toyota iQ
  • Volkswagen Golf VI

The 2009 World Performance Car, presented by Mobil 1, will be chosen from one of these top ten finalists: 

  • Audi RS 6 Avant
  • BMW 135i Coupe / Cabriolet
  • Corvette ZR1
  • Lamborghini LP560-4 Gallardo
  • Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG
  • Mercedes-Benz SL 63 AMG
  • Mitsubishi Evo X / Evo MR
  • Nissan GT-R
  • Porsche 911 Carrera
  • Subaru Impreza WRX STI 

The top three finalists will be announced on March 9.

For more information, please visit